The European Commission updated the list of airlines that do not meet international safety standards and are banned from operating within the European Union. Following the new update, Indonesia's largest privately run airline Lion Air, along with Citilink and Batik Air, as well as, all airlines certified in Zambia, Air Madagascar and most aircraft of Iran Air are allowed to resume operations to the EU.

EU Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc said: "I am happy to say that after seven years of work and extensive European technical assistance, we were able to clear all Zambian air carriers from the list. Following my visit to Iran in April, a technical assessment was successfully carried out in May. Based on this I am happy to announce that we are now also able to allow most aircraft from Iran Air back into European skies."

Following the update, a total of 216 airlines are still banned from EU skies:

  • 214 airlines certified in 19 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states.
  • Two individual airlines, based on safety concerns: Iraqi Airways (Iraq) and Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname).
  • An additional six airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Afrijet and Nouvelle Air Affaires SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and TAAG Angola Airlines (Angola).

The full list of banned airlines can be found here.