US extends travel ban to UK and Ireland


The United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has included the United Kingdom and Ireland in the Level 3 Travel Health Notice. The list already contains most of the European Union countries, as well as China, Iran, and South Korea. 

The United Kingdom was added to the list as a country experiencing a widespread coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, while Ireland made the list because it shares an open border with the UK. U.S. travelers are asked to avoid all nonessential travel to these countries. Those returning from the UK or Ireland are asked to stay home for 14 days, monitor their health, and practice social distancing.

CDC’s Level 3 Travel Health Notice already includes other European countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City. 

On March 11, 2020, the United States closed its borders for all non-Americans who had been to these European countries, China or Iran. 

Related Posts


Stay updated on aviation and aerospace - subscribe to our newsletter!