Exclusive: UK Civil Aviation Authority appoints new Non-Executive Directors

The UK Civil Aviation Authority has announced the appointment of two new Non-Executive Directors. 

Garry Copeland will be joining the board as a Non-Executive Director for Aviation Safety. In his position, Copeland will provide independent counsel to the Civil Aviation Authority’s executive team and will provide a vital role in helping the organisation to deliver its strategic safety objectives.

Previously, Copeland worked in numerous positions across the aviation and aerospace sectors, including roles at British Airways, Cranfield Aerospace Solutions and Air Safety Support International. 

“I am very happy to be joining the Civil Aviation Authority Board at a time of rapid technology change and with significant environmental and societal challenges,” Copeland said.

Jane Hanson will be joining the board as a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee. This role is important in shaping the Civil Aviation Authority’s corporate governance, internal control and financial audit processes. Hanson has worked at several large plc, customer orientated, regulated and not for profit organisations including Welsh Water, Direct Line Group, Rothesay Insurance and Reclaim Fund Limited. 
“I am delighted to be joining the Civil Aviation Authority Board at this unprecedented time and I am very much looking forward to playing my part in helping the sector meet the considerable challenges that lie ahead,” Hanson said. 

Graham Ward and David King will be leaving the UK Civil Aviation Authority Board following eight years of service each. 

The Civil Aviation Authority has also recently appointed Air Vice Marshal Simon Edwards to the Board replacing Air Vice Marshal Ian Gale to hold the military representation role on the Civil Aviation Authority Board.

Related Posts

AeroTime is on YouTube

Subscribe to the AeroTime Hub channel for exclusive video content.

Subscribe to AeroTime Hub