Germany removes 14 countries off its ‘high-risk’ list ; adds 7 new

Vladislav Gajic /

Germany has reassessed its travel entry restrictions and removed 14 countries from what the country considers as ‘high-risk’ areas, and added 7 more to the list.

The updated list of international risk areas was published by the Robert Koch Institute, a research institute and also a German federal government agency for disease control and prevention.  

Since September 19, 2021, the following countries are now classed as high-risk COVID-19 areas by the German government:

  • Antigua and Barbuda 

  • Armenia 

  • Barbados

  • Belize 

  • Guyana 

  • The Republic of Moldova 

  • The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

Travelers from the above countries will have to isolate upon arrival for a period of ten days, unless they have proof of vaccination or recovery from COVID-19.

Meanwhile, the following countries are no longer considered high-risk COVID-19 areas:


  • Bangladesh

  • Botswana

  • Brazil

  • Cyprus

  • Eswatini

  • India 

  • Ireland (the West region)

  • Lesotho 

  • Nepal

  • Portugal (the Algrarve region)

  • Zambia

  • Zimbabwe 

  • South Africa 

  • Malawi

Travelers from these countries do not need to isolate or fill out a passenger locator form. However, all travelers wishing to enter Germany must provide proof of a negative test, vaccination, or recovery from COVID-19

Here’s a document for the full list of country-level classification and Germany’s travel requirements and restrictions.

Related Posts

AeroTime is on YouTube

Subscribe to the AeroTime Hub channel for exclusive video content.

Subscribe to AeroTime Hub