Canada to reopen 8 more airports to international flights by end of November

Hannahmariah /

The Canadian government will reopen more of the country’s airports to international flights by the end of November 2021. 

The decision to ease the country’s border measures was made from “available data and scientific evidence, including the vaccination rate of Canadians, and the improving epidemiological situation” according to a press release by the government

“Increased vaccination levels have allowed us to safely re-open these additional Canadian airports to international passenger flights,” Canada’s Minister of Transport Omar Alghabra said.

“This measure will help ensure that travellers are able to access more regional airports for their international travels this winter, while continuing to support the Government of Canada’s measured approach to re-opening our border.”

Effective on November 30, 2021, international flights carrying passengers will be permitted to land at the following additional Canadian airports:

  • St. John’s International Airport (YYT) 

  • John C. Munro Hamilton International Airport (YHM)

  • Region of Waterloo International Airport (YKF) 

  • Regina International Airport (YQR) 

  • Saskatoon John G. Diefenbaker International Airport (YKE)

  • Kelowna International Airport (YLW) 

  • Abbotsford International Airport (YXX) 

  • Victoria International Airport (YYJ) 

Foreigners who plan to travel to Canada must be fully vaccinated with any of the following approved COVID-19 vaccines: 

  • Pfizer-BioNTech Comirnaty (tozinameran, BNT162b2)

  • Moderna Spikevax (mRNA-1273)

  • AstraZeneca Vaxzevria/COVISHIELD (ChAdOx1-S, AZD1222)

  • Janssen/Johnson & Johnson

Find out if you can enter Canada here

The 10 Canadian airports currently accepting international flights are: 

  • Halifax Stanfield International Airport (YYJ)

  • Québec City Jean Lesage International Airport (YQB) 

  • Montréal-Trudeau International Airport (YUL)

  • Ottawa/Macdonald–Cartier International Airport (YOW) 

  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ) 

  • Billy Bishop Toronto City Centre Airport (YTZ) 

  • Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport (YWG) 

  • Edmonton International Airport (YEG)

  • Calgary International Airport (YYC) 

  • Vancouver International Airport (YVR)

Related Posts

AeroTime is on YouTube

Subscribe to the AeroTime Hub channel for exclusive video content.

Subscribe to AeroTime Hub