Emirates suspends flights from eight more African countries

Daniela Collins / Shutterstock.com

Emirates has temporarily suspended the entry of travelers from eight destinations in Africa until further notice.  

The move was made on December 28, 2021, and currently affects multiple African destinations, including Angola (LAD), Guinea (CKY), Kenya (NBO), Tanzania (DAR), Uganda (EBB), Ghana (ACC), Republic of Cote d’Ivoire (ABJ), Ethiopia (ADD), Zambia (LUN) and Zimbabwe (HRE). 

“Affected customers do not need to call us immediately for rebooking. Customers can simply hold on to their Emirates ticket and when flights resume, get in touch with their travel agent or booking office to make new travel plans,” Emirates confirmed in an announcement on its website. 

The statement continues: “Customers originating from Conakry (CKY) to Dakar (DSS) will also not be accepted for travel.” 

However, the Dubai-based carrier, which has already temporarily suspended flights from Tanzania, Ethiopia, and Nigeria, revealed that outbound passenger flights from Dubai to named destinations will not be affected by the recent suspension. 

The suspension is also extended to all transiting passengers from the named countries.  

The new restrictions have been issued due concerns regarding the spread of COVID-19, particularly the Omicron strain, and the rising infection rates in the country.  


Discover more insight into African aviation, through AeroTime’s media partnership with AviaDev Africa
AviaDev Insight is the first podcast dedicated to the African aviation industry, created by Jon Howell, Founder and Managing Director of AviaDev Africa, Africa’s premier event dedicated to developing air connectivity.
Related Posts

AeroTime is on YouTube

Subscribe to the AeroTime Hub channel for exclusive video content.

Subscribe to AeroTime Hub