The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has issued a Notice to Air Missions (NOTAM) on February 24, 2022 to ban US airlines from flying over Ukraine, Belarus and parts of Russia. 

The FAA had previously issued a NOTAM that banned US airlines and pilots from flying over eastern Ukraine. The latest NOTAM issued came as hostilities increased after Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

“The FAA issued Notices to Air Missions (NOTAMs) expanding the area in Eastern Europe and Russia where U.S. airlines and U.S. pilots cannot operate,” the FAA said in a statement. 

“The expanded NOTAMs now cover the entire country of Ukraine, the entire country of Belarus, and a western portion of Russia.”

The FAA said that the restrictions do not apply to military operations.

Ukraine takes the decision to close the civil airspace above its territory. Kyiv-Boryspil International Airport was bombed.