Russia, EU close airspace to each other amid Ukraine war


Following the invasion of Ukraine, the EU banned all Russian-owned, registered, and controlled aircraft, including private jets belonging to oligarchs, from its airspace as of February 28, 2022. 

In retaliation to the sanctions, Russia banned airlines from 36 European countries from entering its airspace. The Federal Air Transport Agency notes that flights from these countries to Russia are possible only with the special permission of Rosaviatsia or the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. 

Norway has also joined EU members and several other countries in closing its airspace to Russian aircraft as of February 28, 2022.  

Canada, which shut down its airspace to Russian-owned, chartered or operated aircraft as of February 27, 2022, announced that Russia’s flag-carrier Aeroflot flight 111 violated its airspace on February 27, 2022.  

Aeroflot’s Airbus A350, registered VQ-BFY, en-route to Moscow Sheremetyevo International Airport (SVO) took off from Miami International Airport (MIA) and flew via the eastern part of Canada, violating the country’s airspace, according to data. 

Aeroflot flight 111
Courtesy of

“We will not hesitate to take appropriate enforcement action and other measures to prevent future violations,” Transport Canada announced in a statement on February 28, 2022.

Russian airlines have also been banned from UK and Moldovan airspaces as of February 24, 2022.  


Related Posts

AeroTime is on YouTube

Subscribe to the AeroTime Hub channel for exclusive video content.

Subscribe to AeroTime Hub