Cut off: Russian airlines flying to fewer than 10 countries right now

Where can Russian airlines fly to right now? Fewer than 10 countries if an update from the country’s transport ministry is anything to go by.  

Six Russian airlines are currently flying internationally to Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan, the United Arab Emirates, Tajikistan, Turkey and Uzbekistan, the ministry said in a statement on March 17, 2022 detailing state support for regional routes. The carriers therefore run about 250 flights per week.  

“For foreign flights, our carriers use aircraft that have no risk of being detained abroad, including 147 Russian Sukhoi Superjet-100 aircraft,” the ministry added.  

This statement confirms that aircraft leasing companies, mostly based in Ireland, will have a tough job when it gets to reclaiming planes they have leased to Russian operators.  

 Meanwhile, the ministry said 29 foreign airlines continue to provide services to Russia and Uzbekistan. They include carriers from Algeria, Belarus, Venezuela, Israel, India, Iraq, Qatar, UAE, Serbia and Turkey.  

Sanctions imposed on Russia mean Russian aviation is becoming increasingly isolated. Airspace is closed to Russian carriers and aerospace manufacturers have said they will no longer provide support for Russian operators.   

Russian Deputy Prime Minister Yuri Borisov said the country plans to speed up work on the MC-21 and SSJ-100 passenger aircraft programs and is even considering reviving two Soviet-era aircraft programs.  


Related Posts


Stay updated on aviation and aerospace - subscribe to our newsletter!