Singapore opens borders to 8 countries including the United States and Britain

Sean Pavone /

As Singapore continues to rebuild its status as an international travel hub amidst COVID-19, the government announced on October 9, 2021, that the city-state will have an open travel corridor with eight countries. 

Starting October 19, 2021, the Singaporean government will open what is called a Vaccinated Travel Lane between Singapore and eight Category 2 countries: Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, the United States, and the United Kingdom. 

This means that fully-vaccinated travelers from these countries can enter each other’s borders  for general travel after obtaining a short-term and long-term pass. Travelers can apply for passes beginning October 12, 2021.

These eight countries are what Singapore considers to be nations “living with COVID” successfully. 

This announcement came after Singapore launched a Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) program with Brunei and Germany on September 8, 2021, where it allowed fully vaccinated people from the two countries to enter. Singapore reports that since the program began and over 2,000 Vaccinated Travel Passes were issued, there have only been two imported cases of COVID-19, and both were tested on arrival and isolated immediately. 

Singapore also plans to launch a VTL with South Korea starting November 15, 2021, with applications for a short-term and long-term pass commencing on November 8, 2021. 

The government’s official announcement, along with the full details and regulations of the Vaccinated Travel Lane program can be seen here

Related Posts


Stay updated on aviation and aerospace - subscribe to our newsletter!