Major US airlines issue travel waivers ahead of brutal winter weather forecast

Alexey Lesik /

Major US airlines have issued travel waivers in anticipation of a “bomb cyclone” expected to hit the northern part of the country before Christmas. 

Chicago, home to major aviation hub O’Hare International Airport (ORD), is forecasted to be one of the cities hardest hit by the potential cyclone.

With ‘Winter Storm Elliott’ expected to head towards the East – Central US this week, at least seven US airlines have provided customers with travel waivers in anticipation of delays and cancellations.

Which airlines have offered travel waivers?

As of December 21, 2022, the following US airlines have issued winter travel waivers:

Alaska Airlines has issued a winter weather waiver only for flights to and from Seattle due to heavy snow. Check Alaska Airlines’ travel advisory page for updated details.

American Airlines has issued a waiver for travel in, out or through almost 30 airports in the Midwest states as well a separate waiver for about 30 destinations in the Northeast. More details can be found on American’s website.

Atlanta-based Delta Air Lines issued three travel advisories and rebooking options for passengers going to / from Portland International Airport (PDX), Seattle Tacoma International Airport (SEA), and Vancouver International Airport (YVR). Check Delta’s website regularly for more updates.

Low-cost carrier JetBlue issued a “Midwest Winter Weather Fee Waiver” on December 20, 2022 for four airports Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Kansas City International Airport (MCI), Milwaukee Mitchell International Airport(MKE), and Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (MSP). The airline added a winter weather waiver for the Northeast on Tuesday. Check JetBlue’s winter waivers page for updates.

Florida-based low-cost carrier Spirit Airlines has issued winter weather waivers for a number of Midwest and Northeast airports. More updates and details can be found on Spirit’s website.

United Airlines is offering four separate winter weather waivers. One in the Midwest, one for Texas, one for the East Coast and another for Central and Northwest United States. Find more details on each regional waiver on United’s page on waivers and travel notices.

Related Posts

AeroTime is on YouTube

Subscribe to the AeroTime Hub channel for exclusive video content.

Subscribe to AeroTime Hub